Create lab orders in Practice Better to track your clients' lab tests. Lab result documents can be attached to lab orders, shared with your client directly, and are saved in the portal as a part of your client's record.
Creating Lab Orders
To create a lab order, navigate to My Practice > Labs. From here, click on the red Fast Action button to create a lab order and select your client.
Once a client has been selected, complete your lab details by adding a lab name, order date, and status.
You also have the option of sharing this lab (with or without a client email notification) and attaching a file. Both actions can be completed at any time.
Once you've completed all required fields, click on the Create button to save your lab order. Lab orders that have not yet been shared with clients will appear as a draft.
You can edit your lab details by clicking on the Edit button. From here, you can update your lab name, status, share your lab, and attach your client's lab documents.
The More Options button will also give you the options to:
- View the lab
- Share the lab with your client
- Open the lab in the Client Hub
- Archive the lab (shared labs only)
- Delete the lab
- Transfer the lab to a team member (Team plan only)
Viewing and Updating Labs
To view your lab, click on the More Options button> View.
From this section, you can click on the Edit button to update your lab status, sharing settings, as well as attach lab documents.
Once you've updated your lab details, click on the Update button to save your changes.
Click on the Annotate button to create a note associated with the lab.
By default, lab annotations are private to you, however, you can share these notes by enabling the Share note with my client setting, as well as send them a notification of this addition. You can change the sharing options at any time.
Each annotation will include an icon to indicate whether it is private or shared.
Archiving and Deleting Labs
You can archive shared labs by opening the lab and selecting the Archive option.
Once a lab is archived, it will no longer be available to your client via the Client Portal, however, it will always be available for your reference in the practitioner portal.
You also have the option of permanently deleting a lab from your portal. Once a lab is deleted, it will not be accessible to you or your client.